Thursday, December 31, 2015

Happy New Year 2016

As we prepare to begin a new year I wanted to say thanks to my loyal readers over the last 7+ years.   In 2016, I'll still be doing lots of reading, but you may notice fewer posts.  Since retiring (6) months ago,  I seem to have less time for blogging.  Life is busy, its all good.

Wishing you a Happy and Healthy New Year

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

At the Movies

We saw (2) new movies this week, one was somewhat disappointing the other one fantastic.

What attracted me to this movie Joy, was the cast: Jennifer Lawrence, Robert DeNiro and Bradley Cooper (Cooper plays a small part).  As many of you know, these (3) are the same stars of Silver Linings Playbook, an all-time favorite of mine.  Unfortunately, I had no idea what this movie was about and the previews we saw on television were misleading IMO.  I went in expecting some humor, but there was none to be found.  In retrospect, I wish I knew this was about a woman who developed the first self-wringing mop in the 1990.

The first part of the movie is all over the place with Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Joy Mangano, as a young divorced mom of (2) young children and her dysfunctional family and living situation.  With her Gram, Mimi, always telling her she was destined for greatness, she comes up with the idea of a wringless mop. Cooper plays a HSN (Home Shopping Network) executive whom she convinces to promote her product on air.

The acting was good but, the story just felt very disjointed. - Disappointing!

In Concussion, another movie based on a true story, Will Smith, another favorite actor, plays Dr. Bennet Omalu, a brilliant, Nigerian born, forensic neuropathologist, who discovers CTE (chronic traumatic encephalopathy), which is related to football related brain trauma.  His discovery pits him against the NFL who does everything possible to dispel these findings. Sadly, the good doctor, who wants to do the right thing,  is never really given an opportunity to forcefully get his point across.

The acting and story line was very good and the personal stories depicting ex-pro NFL players whose lives were ruined by CTE is hard to watch at times.  Terrific Story!

Hoping to see The Danish Girl if my husband is onboard.

Have you seen any new movies lately?

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros - Like Family; Paolo Giordano

Every Tuesday I host First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros where I share the first paragraph sometimes two from a book I am reading or thinking about reading soon.  Today's selection is that I started yesterday and am loving thus far. I also loved, The Solitude of Prime Numbers by this author.

Like Family; Paolo Giordano
Pamela Dorman Books
December - 2015

Mrs. A.

"On my thirty-fifth birthday, Mrs. A. abruptly gave up the determination that in my eyes characterized her more than any other quality and, already laid out in a bed that by then  seemed too big for her body, finally abandoned the world we all know."

What do you think -- keep reading or pass? 
(Feel free to join in this week by posting your intro below?

Sunday, December 27, 2015

Favorite Reads for 2015

Another year is nearly over and as I look back over what I've read this year, I kind of surprised myself.  This year I read 114 books but, that was nearly (30) fewer books than 2014. I guess I really am busier in retirement than when I was working full time.  Did any of these books make your list of favorite reads?

Favorite Reads for 2015

A Little Life
it was amazing
When I first decided to read this book, I thought that the cover image was a terrible choice, however, after finishing this 700+ pp book over the course of a few weeks, I now think the image is perfect. It so accurately depicts the emot...
it was amazing
Aquarium is an addictive read that hooked me early on, shocked me as the story progressed and made me wonder whether emotionally wounded individuals can ever truly heal. The story opens in 1990's Seattle, where 12-year-old Caitlin live...
The Beautiful Bureaucrat
it was amazing
When I saw that readers who enjoy Murakami and Atwood would likely enjoy this book, I knew I had to give it a try. It's a great choice for book groups with plenty to discuss. After being out of work for way too long Joseph and Josephine...
Ghostly: A Collection of Ghost Stories
it was amazing
Ghostly, was a pleasant surprise, an awesome collection of short ghost stories. Each story can be completed in a short sitting, preferably by a nice warm fire or glowing candle with something warm to drink. Each story begins with a sma...
it was amazing
Just who is Eileen? In a town only referred to as X-ville in Massachusetts lived 24 year old Eileen Dunlop. Some might see her simply as a lonely young woman with low self esteem who cares for her alcoholic ex-cop father. To me, Eileen w...
What I Remember Most
it was amazing
What I Remember Most was a terrific story and one that kept me wondering as I eagerly turned each page. Part mystery, part contemporary fiction, the only thing that the reader knows for sure is that the protagonist, Grenadine Scotch Wild...
Our Souls at Night
it was amazing
I loved this audiobook narrated by Mark Bramhall. The story left me feeling a bit sad, and with a thought that I often ask myself these days -- "Why can't people just live and let live?" The story is a pretty simple one and involves two...
Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End
it was amazing
It took me a while to write this review because it covered so much important information, I wasn't sure possibly write a review that would it all the credit it deserved, as I'm sure I will have glossed over lots of important information....
This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!
it was amazing
This is Your Life, Harriet Chance is a wonderful story told through the POV of Harriet, a 78 year old widow who had been married for 55 years. After her husband Bernard passes away, Harriet learns he had planned an Alaskan cruise for ...
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory
it was amazing
While many people choose not to think about death and dying, 20-something author Caitlin Doughty was obsessed by it at an early age. At the age of eight she performed a ritual the she believed would help keep death at bay. After growing ...